US > DC > District of Columbia County > Washington > City of Washington
City of Washington Washington, DC

Washington, D.C., formally the District of Columbia and commonly referred to as "Washington", "the District", or simply "D.C.", is the capital of the United States. The signing of the Residence Act on July 16, 1790, approved the creation of a capital district located along the Potomac River on the country's East Coast. The U.S.

Leased space (sq ft): 3574686 Population (2015): 601723